The Windscreen Company Southern 4 Rally Championship 2011

One of Ireland's most popular clubman championships kicked off for the 13th year at the recent Quality Hotels West Cork Rally. The Southern 4 Rally Championship which is being sponsored this year by the Windscreen Company had its first round at the Clonakilty based event on St.Patricks weekend. After two exciting days rallying, Daragh O'Riordan took top points, with Colm Murphy netting eighteen points for being the second registered finisher.

Next up is Fergus O'Meara in his Escort Mk2, while fourth and fifth places are taken by Kieran Daly (who won the first round of the Citroen Racing Trophy) and Charlie Hickey in his Mk2 Escort. What makes the second round of the Cartell.ie Rally of the Lakes so interesting is that each of the top five contenders is likely to do the event. With two tough days rallying ahead around Killarney and the Beara Peninsula, anyone of the top five could find themselves leading after the second round. Ed O'Callaghan's win last year has shown that a consistently well driven 2WD car is capable of taking the overall honours.

Going down through the homologated classes, class 2 is between Jason Roycroft and Brian O'Mahony, Colm Murphy leads class 4, and Kieran Daly leads class 6, while Daragh O'Riordan leads class 8 from Tony Calnan and Connie Tarrant. In the modified classes, Shane Stanley leads a very competitive class 9; Gearoid Beamish leads class 10, while class 11 is extremely competitive. Eamon O'Connell leads from James Fitzgerald, Chris Dineen and David Duggan. Charlie Hickey and Andy Horgan are in battle in class 13, while Fergus O'Meara has maximum points in class 14.

Colm Murphy leads the group N category, while Kieran Daly leads the 1600 class and Fergus O'Meara the 2WD class. David Cremin leads from Jeremiah O'Flynn in the Historics both driving Mk1 Escorts. The Junior category is where the real competition is at the moment with eight registered drivers scoring points and the top seven all Honda Civic mounted. Jonathan O'Mahony leads from David Brosnan, with David Noonan in third place.

Kevin O'Driscoll
Press & Media Officer
Tel: 00 353 86 2866 256
Email: <a href="mailto:[email protected]<mailto:[email protected] westcorkrally.com" rel="nofollow">[email protected]

More Information is available on www.southern4rallychampionship.com


Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!